PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. — The low amateur heading into the weekend is Scarsdale native Brandon Wu, who is about to graduate from Stanford. Wu shot a 2-under 69 Friday and is 2-under for the tournament in a tie for 19th.

Asked if he’s thinking of finishing as the low amateur or winning the tournament, Wu, who’s seven shots behind leader Gary Woodland, said, “A little bit of both.’’

“I think one step at a time in a sense, but, yeah, when I was out there 4-under through 10, I was like, ‘OK, I’m three shots off the lead. If I can just continue to make birdies, then I’m right in the mix,’ ’’ he said. “I figured 2-over would probably be the cut. That’s obviously the first goal. “But I didn’t want to think too much about that, I just wanted to focus on how I was going to play. The key for my first two rounds was keeping the ball in the short stuff [fairways] and then trying to hit as many greens as possible.’’

Wu had it to 4-under through 10 holes and was tied for sixth at the time before stumbling early on his back nine (which was the front).

“A little hiccup on Nos. 2 and 3 and went double bogey, but I knew there was some birdie holes coming down the stretch so I wasn’t too worried,’’ he said.

Wu said finishing as the low amateur is “something that’s very attainable I think.’’ He’s two shots ahead of Viktor Hovland.

“I’m happy with the position I’m in,’’ he said. “I know it’s going to take two more good rounds to end up with that honor. But I’m confident I can do it.’’

It’s been a heck of a run for Wu, who helped Stanford win the NCAA team title.

“I’ve had a blast,’’ he said. “This is honestly the dream ending I could have had in my senior year at Stanford.’’

Cameron Young, the 22-year-old amateur from Scarborough in Westchester County, failed to make the cut in his first professional tournament, finishing 9-over with a 75 the first round and a 76 on Friday.


Jim Furyk, the 49-year-old 2003 U.S. Open winner who’s playing in his 25th national championship this week, shot the low round of the morning tee times with a 4-under 67 to get to 2-under for the tournament, seven shots behind leader Gary Woodland.

Justin Rose, speaking glowingly about Furyk, the 2018 Ryder Cup captain, said his being in contention is a sign of how Pebble Beach, with its modest length, is a course for everyone.

“I just saw Jim Furyk shoot the round of the day at 4-under par; it means that this golf course is there for everybody,’’ Rose said. “Jim Furyk has never wasted a shot on the golf course in his life, I don’t think. The way he plays and he manages his game is a lesson to us all really. And I think my caddie, Lordie, today said basically Tiger is a Jim Furyk with just a bit of an extra gear in terms of distance.’’

Furyk, after shooting a 2-over 73 Thursday, knew he needed to make a run Friday to stick around for the weekend.

“I needed to come out and play a solid round,’’ he said. “At one point I was 4-over par [Thursday]. I made a couple birdies on 16 and 17 and was able to salvage the round and shoot 2-over. I think that finish the last six holes yesterday I played very well, and that allowed me to kind of get out there [Friday] and kind of build off of it.

“I found something in my setup. Something I keyed on and I hit some solid shots.’’


Louis Oosthuizen, who’s 6-under and three shots out of the lead, is trying to become only the third player, along with Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods, to win a British Open at St. Andrews and a U.S. Open at Pebble Beach. Oosthuizen won the British in 2010 at the Home of Golf.


Matt Kuchar has done everything in his career but win a major championship, and he’s in prime position to check that off the list this week, standing five shots off the lead.

Kuchar, who already has two wins this year along with four top-5 finishes, shot 69 on Friday and was asked how he felt about his status entering the weekend.

“I really don’t worry,’’ he said. “You do the best you can. I feel like I’ve had two good days and hope for two more good days.’’

Kuchar put an exclamation point on his day with a chip-in for eagle on the 18th hole.

“There was a lot of good golf, and an awesome way to finish,’’ he said. “I hit two great shots just over the back of the green, and an amazing chip to see it fall in the hole was just a fantastic finish.’’

He had a great finish to his opening round as well with a birdie on No. 9 on Thursday.

“There are couple of different ways you can leave,’’ Kuchar said. “I can’t think of a much better way to leave the course than holing out on 18 for eagle.’’

.


READ MORE – CLICK HERE

www.Red360.com.ve


from Red360.com.ve http://bit.ly/2wV1GBE
via Red360.com.ve