Michael Jackson‘s estate slammed the Creative Arts Emmys for giving “Leaving Neverland” the award for Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Special.

“For a film that is a complete fiction to be honored in a nonfiction Emmy category is a complete farce,” the Jackson estate said in a statement released to ET, in response to the 2-part documentary’s win.

“Not one shred of proof supports this completely one-sided, so-called documentary which was made in secrecy and for which not one person outside of the two subjects and their families were interviewed.”

“Leaving Neverland” followed two of Jackson’s alleged victims of sexual abuse, James Safechuck and Wade Robson, as they told their stories in graphic detail. It was directed by Dan Reed.

The Jackson family slammed the documentary upon its release at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival, calling it a “rehash of dated and discredited allegations.”

At the time of the documentary’s release, the Jackson family admitted they hadn’t watched the film.

“Some would say though, guys, it’s hard for you sit here and say the documentary isn’t telling the truth when you haven’t seen the documentary,” CBS co-host Gayle King said. “Shouldn’t you at least see the documentary? How can you complain or challenge something that you have not seen?”

Jackie replied, “I don’t care to see it … because I know my brother. I don’t have to see that documentary. I know Michael. I’m the oldest brother. I know my brother. I know what he stood for. What he was all about. Bringing the world together. Making kids happy. That’s the kind of person he was.”

.


READ MORE – CLICK HERE

www.Red360.com.ve


from Red360.com.ve https://ift.tt/31DTtiY
via Red360.com.ve